NinjaTrader Simulator vs TradeStation Simulator: paper trading compared
NinjaTrader Simulator is a futures platform; TradeStation Simulator is a broker demo. Here is how their paper trading compares using only facts from provider pages and cited reviews (see each listing's sources).
Price: NinjaTrader Simulator — Free platform and simulator (paid platform licences optional); TradeStation Simulator — Free with account. Market data: NinjaTrader Simulator — Live streaming for 14-day trial, then delayed unless data subscription or funded account; TradeStation Simulator — Free real-time data for non-professionals (funded account required).
Account: NinjaTrader Simulator — Free; no deposit required; TradeStation Simulator — Funded TradeStation account required. Virtual balance: NinjaTrader Simulator — $50,000 (per NerdWallet); TradeStation Simulator — Unlimited paper dollars. Reset: NinjaTrader Simulator — Yes (Sim101: Edit Account > Reset); TradeStation Simulator — Yes (balance resets).
Markets: NinjaTrader Simulator — US futures; TradeStation Simulator — US. Platforms: NinjaTrader Simulator — desktop; TradeStation Simulator — desktop, web, mobile.
Key differences in our data: TradeStation Simulator adds ETFs, mutual funds, options, stocks.
Pick the one that matches the market you plan to trade and the country you live in — the availability rows below show which countries each provider confirms.
| NinjaTrader Simulator | TradeStation Simulator | |
|---|---|---|
| Type | futures platform | broker demo |
| Markets | US futures | US |
| Assets | futures | stocks, ETFs, mutual funds, options, futures |
| Data | Live streaming for 14-day trial, then delayed unless data subscription or funded account | Free real-time data for non-professionals (funded account required) |
| Price | Free platform and simulator (paid platform licences optional) | Free with account |
| Account | Free; no deposit required | Funded TradeStation account required |
| Starting balance | $50,000 (per NerdWallet) | Unlimited paper dollars |
| Reset | Yes (Sim101: Edit Account > Reset) | Yes (balance resets) |
| Replay | Yes (Market Replay: up to 90 days of tick data, up to 1,000x speed) | unknown |
| Platforms | desktop | desktop, web, mobile |
| Limits | Real-time data and Market Replay require funded account | Requires funded account |
| Country availability | Unverified Simulator country restrictions not stated; live accounts limited to supported countries | Confirmed in some countries; others unverified Available: US Separate TradeStation Global/EU simulators exist; country eligibility for funded accounts not confirmed here |
| Available in US | Unverified | Available (verified) |
| Available in UK | Unverified | Unverified |
| Available in IN | Unverified | Unverified |
| Available in AU | Unverified | Unverified |
| Available in CA | Unverified | Unverified |
FAQ
Is NinjaTrader Simulator or TradeStation Simulator free for paper trading?
NinjaTrader Simulator: Free platform and simulator (paid platform licences optional). TradeStation Simulator: Free with account.
Which has real-time data, NinjaTrader Simulator or TradeStation Simulator?
NinjaTrader Simulator: Live streaming for 14-day trial, then delayed unless data subscription or funded account. TradeStation Simulator: Free real-time data for non-professionals (funded account required).
Do NinjaTrader Simulator and TradeStation Simulator require an account?
NinjaTrader Simulator: Free; no deposit required. TradeStation Simulator: Funded TradeStation account required.
Where are NinjaTrader Simulator and TradeStation Simulator available?
NinjaTrader Simulator: Unverified Simulator country restrictions not stated; live accounts limited to supported countries . TradeStation Simulator: Confirmed in some countries; others unverified Available: US Separate TradeStation Global/EU simulators exist; country eligibility for funded accounts not confirmed here .
More comparisons
Lists with both
Information only, not financial advice. Simulated results do not predict real results. Features and availability change and vary by country; check the provider's site. Sponsored or affiliate links, if any, are labelled.