All simulatorsBest for…CompareWhat changedMethodologyNewsletter

Alpaca vs IBKR: paper trading compared

Alpaca Paper Trading API is a API sandbox; Interactive Brokers Paper Trading is a broker demo. Here is how their paper trading compares using only facts from provider pages and cited reviews (see each listing's sources).

Price: Alpaca — Free; IBKR — Free. Market data: Alpaca — Real-time IEX data (Paper Only accounts get IEX only); IBKR — Free trial: delayed 10-15 min (OTC spot FX & metals non-delayed); paper account mirrors live data subscriptions.

Account: Alpaca — Paper Only Account needs only an email; IBKR — Free trial, or paper account once a live account is approved (funding not required for approval). Virtual balance: Alpaca — $100,000 default; balance set when creating a new paper account; IBKR — US$1,000,000 (paper account). Reset: Alpaca — Create/delete paper accounts (replaces reset); IBKR — Yes (Client Portal).

Markets: Alpaca — US; IBKR — global (170+ markets per eggplantstockinvest). Platforms: Alpaca — API; IBKR — desktop (TWS), web, mobile.

Key differences in our data: only Alpaca works without a brokerage account; IBKR adds ETFs, bonds, crypto, forex, futures, metals, options.

Pick the one that matches the market you plan to trade and the country you live in — the availability rows below show which countries each provider confirms.

Alpaca Paper Trading APIInteractive Brokers Paper Trading
TypeAPI sandboxbroker demo
MarketsUSglobal (170+ markets per eggplantstockinvest)
Assetsstocksstocks, ETFs, options, futures, forex, crypto, bonds, metals
DataReal-time IEX data (Paper Only accounts get IEX only)Free trial: delayed 10-15 min (OTC spot FX & metals non-delayed); paper account mirrors live data subscriptions
PriceFreeFree
AccountPaper Only Account needs only an emailFree trial, or paper account once a live account is approved (funding not required for approval)
Starting balance$100,000 default; balance set when creating a new paper accountUS$1,000,000 (paper account)
ResetCreate/delete paper accounts (replaces reset)Yes (Client Portal)
Replayunknownunknown
PlatformsAPIdesktop (TWS), web, mobile
Limits~10% of eligible orders get random partial fill; no slippage/fees/dividends modelledFull paper account requires approved live account
Country availabilityAvailable globally (provider statement)
'Anyone globally can create an Alpaca Paper Only Account'
Confirmed in some countries; others unverified
Available: US, UK, IN, AU, CA
Paper account follows IBKR's accepted-countries list; free-trial eligibility not stated separately
Available in USAvailable (verified)Available (verified)
Available in UKAvailable (verified)Available (verified)
Available in INAvailable (verified)Available (verified)
Available in AUAvailable (verified)Available (verified)
Available in CAAvailable (verified)Available (verified)

FAQ

Is Alpaca or IBKR free for paper trading?

Alpaca: Free. IBKR: Free.

Which has real-time data, Alpaca or IBKR?

Alpaca: Real-time IEX data (Paper Only accounts get IEX only). IBKR: Free trial: delayed 10-15 min (OTC spot FX & metals non-delayed); paper account mirrors live data subscriptions.

Do Alpaca and IBKR require an account?

Alpaca: Paper Only Account needs only an email. IBKR: Free trial, or paper account once a live account is approved (funding not required for approval).

Where are Alpaca and IBKR available?

Alpaca: Available globally (provider statement) 'Anyone globally can create an Alpaca Paper Only Account' . IBKR: Confirmed in some countries; others unverified Available: US, UK, IN, AU, CA Paper account follows IBKR's accepted-countries list; free-trial eligibility not stated separately .

More comparisons

Interactive Brokers Paper Trading vs Schwab thinkorswim paperMoneyInteractive Brokers Paper Trading vs TradeStation Simulator

Lists with both

Best for US stocksBest for India (NSE/BSE)Best for UK tradersBest for AustraliaBest for CanadaBest for free paper tradingBest for real-time dataBest for algo/API testing

Information only, not financial advice. Simulated results do not predict real results. Features and availability change and vary by country; check the provider's site. Sponsored or affiliate links, if any, are labelled.